Azimio and Kenya Kwanza Governors Share Powerful CoG Committees [LIST]

Azimio and Kenya Kwanza Governors Share Powerful CoG Committees [LIST]

President William Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza alliance and Raila Odinga’s Azimio la Umoja Coalition party have shared committees of the powerful Council of Governors.

Following the election of Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru as CoG Chair on Saturday, September 17, provincial chiefs elected chairmen of 18 executive committees.

Kiambu Governor Kimani Wa Matangi will chair the Committee on Energy, Roads, Transport and Infrastructure, while his Kakamega counterpart Fernandes Barasa will lead the finance role. Barasa expressed his gratitude to his fellow provincial bosses.

Kakamega elected Governor Fernandes Barasa and ODM party leader, Raila Odinga, at a public meeting on August 26, 2022

See also  Japan protests China's potential gas extraction in disputed waters


“Special thanks to my fellow governors for putting their trust in the chairmanship of the Finance, Planning and Economic Affairs Committee,” said Barasa.

Committees chaired by Azimio governors

Security and Foreign Affairs – Dr. Dhadho Gaddae Godhana, Tana River. (ODM)

Finance, Planning and Economics – Fernandes Baraza, Kakamega (ODM)

Land, Housing and Urban Development – Prof. dr. Anyang’ Nyong’o, Kisumu. (ODM)

Environment and Climate Change Committee – Wilber Ottichilo, Vihiga. (ODM)

Trade, Industry, Manufacturing and Enterprise Development – Wavinya Ndeti, Machakos. (wiper)

Legal, Constitutional Affairs and Intergovernmental Relations – Mutula Kilonzo Jr, Makueni. (wiper)

See also  Luxury fashion chain McMullen opens pop-up boutique in Detroit

Arid, Semi-Arid Lands (ASAL) and Disaster Management – Nathif A. Jama, Garissa. (ODM)

Ken Lusaka to be sworn in as governor of Bungoma County at Bungoma Sports Ground on August 25, 2022

Ken Lusaka to be sworn in as governor of Bungoma County at Bungoma Sports Ground on August 25, 2022

Committees chaired by Kenyan Kwanza governors

Health – Muthomi Njuki, Tharaka Nithi. (UDA)

Education – Eric Mutai, Kericho. (UDA)

Blue Economy – Issa Abdalla Timamy Lamu. (ANC)

Tourism and Nature – Patrick Ole Ntutu, Narok (UDA)

Resource Mobilization and Partnerships – Cecily Mbarire, Embu (UDA)

Human Resources, Labor and Social Welfare – Sakaja Arthur Johnson, Nairobi. (UDA)

See also  Gunfire erupts again in Burkina Faso day after 2nd coup

Agriculture, Livestock and Cooperatives – Kenneth Lusaka, Bungoma. (Ford Kenya)

Energy, Roads, Transport and Infrastructure – Kimani Wamatangi, Kiambu. (UDA)

Committee on Gender, Youth, Culture, Sport and Social Services – Simon Kachapin, West Pokot (UDA)

Information and Communication Technology (ICT) and Knowledge Management – Wisley Rotich, Elgeyo Marakwet. (UDA)

Notably, Taita Taveta Governor Andrew Mwadime, who was elected on an independent ticket, will chair the Water, Forestry and Natural Resources Management Committee.

Andrew Mwadime

A photo of Taita Taveta governor-elect Andrew Mwadime receiving his certificate after being declared the winner in the August 9, 2022 general election.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here