15.7 C
Saturday, May 8, 2021

Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games: among 8 other Indian women’s cricket team to qualify for sporting event

Must read

UK Time Newshttps://www.uktimenews.com
UK Time News is your daily dose of Latest News, Entertainment, Music, Fashion, Lifestyle, World, Cricket, Sports, Politics, Tech, Business News Website. We provide you with the Latest Breaking News Straight from the UK & all around the World on different categories.

Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and England have all qualified for the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, England, as cricket returns to the event next year, the International Cricket Council (ICC) said on Monday.

READ  RBC Heritage: Sunday tee times, 24/7 TV and news

Women’s cricket will appear at the Games for the first time, and cricket for the second time, following an International Men’s One-Day Competition (ODI), held in Kuala Lumpur in 1998, won by South Africa.

Caribbean athletes represent their individual country at the Games and a qualifying tournament for those nations will decide which team takes over from the West Indies.

READ  First Segment Announced For Tuesday's WWE NXT | UKTN

The final tournament place will be awarded to the winners of a qualifying event to be held before January 31, 2022.

“Cricket is a sport that is synonymous with the Commonwealth of Nations and we are very happy to have it back at the Games for the first time since the men’s competition in Kuala Lumpur,” said Commonwealth Games Federation President Dame Louise Martin.

READ  SRH vs RCB: Virat Kohli reprimanded for violating the IPL code of conduct | Cricket News

“The debut of women’s T20 cricket will be a historic moment for Commonwealth Sport and a tremendous showcase for women’s sport around the world.”

READ  First Segment Announced For Tuesday's WWE NXT | UKTN

The 2022 Commonwealth Games, which will draw 4,500 athletes from 72 countries and territories, will take place from July 28 to August 8 of next year.


More articles


Latest article