Here is the panel of experts who will vote on Moderna and J. & J boosters.


A committee of scientific advisers from the Food and Drug Administration is meeting Thursday and Friday to review available data on the use of additional doses of Moderna and Johnson & Johnson vaccines to boost immunity. Votes are planned on whether to recommend emergency authorization of booster injections for recipients of these vaccines.

While the panel’s recommendations are not binding, they are very likely to influence the FDA’s decision – typically issued within days of the advisory committee intervening. If the agency says yes to boosters, the process moves to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Who are the experts on the FDA Advisory Committee on Vaccines and Related Biologics?

The committee now has 19 voting members who are Scientific Authorities in various fields, including immunology, vaccine safety and virology. Many are doctors.

Dr. Arnold Monto, the acting chairman of the committee, is professor of epidemiology in the School of Public Health at the University of Michigan.

See also  Libyan parliament passes key electoral legislation

Here are the other voting members:

  • Dr. Archana Chatterjee, a pediatric infectious disease specialist, is the Dean of Chicago Medical School and Vice President of Medical Affairs at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science.

  • Capt. Amanda Cohn is a physician and senior official overseeing vaccine policy at the CDC’s National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases.

  • Dr. Oveto Fuller is a qualified pathologist and Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology in the University of Michigan School of Medicine.

  • Dr. Hayley gans is professor of pediatric infectious diseases at Stanford University Medical Center.

  • Dr. James hildreth is Professor of Medicine and President and CEO of Meharry Medical College.

  • Dr. Randy Hawkins is a practicing physician specializing in internal medicine and sits on the committee as a consumer representative.

  • Dr. Michael kurilla is a senior official specializing in infectious diseases and vaccine development at the National Institutes of Health.

  • Dr. Jeanette Lee is a professor of biostatistics at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock, Ark., and an expert in clinical trials.

  • Dr. Offer withdrawal is Director of the Precision Vaccines Program at Boston Children’s Hospital and Professor of Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School.

  • Dr. H. Cody Meissner is professor of pediatric infectious diseases at Tufts University School of Medicine and Tufts Children’s Hospital in Boston.

  • Dr. Patrick moore is professor of microbiology and molecular genetics at the University of Pittsburgh.

  • Dr. Michel nelson is professor of medicine at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. He is also chairman of the American Board of Allergy and Immunology.

  • Dr. Paul Offit is professor of pediatrics at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine.

  • Dr. Steven pergam is an infectious disease expert at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle and an associate professor at the University of Washington.

  • Dr. Stanley perlman is a professor of microbiology and immunology at the University of Iowa and a pediatric infectious disease specialist with expertise in coronaviruses.

  • Dr. Eric rubin is editor of the New England Journal of Medicine and infectious disease expert at Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health.

  • Dr. Marc Sawyer is Professor of Pediatrics and Pediatric Infectious Disease Specialist at the University of California, San Diego and Rady Children’s Hospital in San Diego.

  • Dr. Melinda wharton is the associate director of vaccine policy at the CDC’s National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Disease.

See also  Paris court upholds life sentence for "Carlos the jackal" in 1974 grenade attack


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here