India A captain Sanju Samson receives a rousing reception from the crowd during the 1st ODI in Chennai. View | Cricket News


India A is currently up against New Zealand A in an unofficial three-match ODI series. The ODIs are followed by a three-match test series, which India A won 2-0. The hosts also led the ODI series 1-0 after beating the visitors by seven wickets on Thursday at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The second and third ODIs will be played at the same venue on Sunday and Tuesday respectively. After opting to bowl, India A bundled New Zealand A for 167 in 40.2 overs.

See also  Team India cricketer Taniya Bhatia victim of theft in London, lashes out at 'lack of security' at hotel

Shardul Thakur was the choice of the bowlers as he finished the match with figures of 8.2-1-32-4. Meanwhile, Kuldeep Sen also gave numbers of 7-0-30-3.

For the visitors, Michale Rippon (61) and Joe Walker (36) added 89 runs for the seventh wicket after New Zealand A dropped to 74 for six.

In response, India A chased the goal with seven wickets, within 31 overs.

After Prithvi Shaw’s early wicket, Ruturaj Gaikwad (41) and Rahul Tripathi (31) gave India a strong platform, before skipper Sanju Samson (29 out) and Rajat Patidar (45 out) brought them over the line.

See also  SAFF U-17 Championship: India beats Bangladesh to reach final | Football news

Samson got a rousing reception from the Chepauk crowd, as he walked out to punch in the middle.

Earlier this week, India’s T20 World Cup squad was announced and Samson found no place in even reserves. The right-handed batter then trended on Twitter, with fans angry over his non-inclusion in the lineup.

See also  Fantasy football trading tips: someone who walks back to trade for, trade and hold


India A-squad: Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Sanju Samson (Captain), KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Shabhaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Varma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Navdeep Saini, Raj Angad Bawa

The second and third ODIs will be played at the same venue on Sunday and Tuesday respectively.

Topics mentioned in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here