3.7 C
Thursday, May 6, 2021

Mamata Banerjee sworn in as WC of West Bengal for third consecutive term

Must read

UK Time Newshttps://www.uktimenews.com
UK Time News is your daily dose of Latest News, Entertainment, Music, Fashion, Lifestyle, World, Cricket, Sports, Politics, Tech, Business News Website. We provide you with the Latest Breaking News Straight from the UK & all around the World on different categories.

After winning a landslide victory in the West Bengal Assembly election, Mamata Banerjee was sworn in as chief minister of state on Wednesday for his third consecutive term.

Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar has taken the oath of office and secrecy to Trinamool Congressman Raj Bhavan on a low-key agenda due to the current Covid-19 crisis.

She was sworn in in Bengali.

Along with top TMC executives like Partha Chatterjee and Subrata Mukherjee, poll strategist Prashant Kishor, who played a key role in TMC’s victory, and Banerjee MP’s nephew, Abhishek Banerjee, were in attendance.

READ  West Bengal: CM Banerjee cancels public meetings citing ECI order and Covid push

TMC supremacy has said his first priority after he returns to duty will be to tackle the Covid-19 situation.

READ  Laurence Fox vows to stop 'war on motorists' by cutting parking fees

“I congratulate Mamata Ji on her third term. Our priority is that we must end this senseless violence that has affected society as a whole. I have every hope that the CM will urgently take all necessary measures to restore the ‘rule of law,’ Governor Dhankhar said after taking the oath.

The CM will now proceed to her Nabanna office, where she will receive an honor guard from the Kolkata Police.

Banerjee, who lost to Nandigram despite Trinamool’s stunning victory, is due for election to the assembly within six months of taking office.

READ  Pence, suffering from a slow heartbeat, undergoes surgery for a pacemaker implant.

According to Article 164 (4) of the Indian Constitution, a Minister who, for a period of six consecutive months, is not a member of the State Legislature, ceases to be a Minister at the expiration of that period. .

After his defeat in Nandigram, Mamata Banerjee claimed on Monday that the assembly seat returning officer said he was threatened with not recounting the votes.

READ  Cooch Behar murders 'genocide', EC cracking down on facts, says CM Mamata Banerjee

After eight rounds of voting in the state, the votes were counted and the results announced for the May 2 assembly election.

READ  Biden seeks a change in the way the nation serves its people

The Banerjee-led TMC won 213 seats while the Bharatiya Janata party won 77 seats in the 294-seat assembly. The ISF, which challenged the secular party symbol Rashtriya Majlis, and an independent, managed one seat each.

However, the elections for two seats in Murshidabad are postponed due to the disappearance of the candidates due to Covid.

To subscribe to UKTN newsletters

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with UKTN. Download our app now !!


More articles


Latest article