Presidential polls: Draupadi Murmu will file his candidacy today


NDA presidential candidate Draupadi Murmu will file her candidacy today. Before filing her document, she met Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Interior Minister Amit Shah on Thursday. Arriving to an enthusiastic welcome at Delhi airport, Murmu, 64, was received by Union Tribal Affairs Minister Arjun Munda and dozens of BJP workers.

She is Odisha’s first presidential candidate from a major political party or alliance. She continues to break down barriers and was the first female governor of Jharkhand. She served as Governor of Jharkhand from 2015 to 2021.

The early days of NDA presidential candidate Draupadi Murmu

Coming from a poor tribal family in Mayurbhanj village, a backward neighborhood of Odisha, Draupadi Murmu completed his education despite difficult circumstances. She taught at Shri Aurobindo Integral Education Centre, Rairangpur.

See also  NDA nominates Draupadi Murmu as presidential candidate

The political career of Draupadi Murmu

She started her political career as Vice President of Rairangpur NAC. Drupadi Murmu was a member of the Odisha Legislative Assembly from Rairangpur between 2000 and 2004. As a minister, she held the portfolios of Transport and Commerce, Livestock and Fisheries. She again served as a member of the Odisha assembly from 2004 to 2009.

In 2007, the Odisha assembly honored her with the “Nilakantha Award” for best MP. She was a Junior Assistant in the Department of Irrigation and Power between 1979 and 1983. She held several organizational positions in the BJP and was Vice President of ST Morcha State in 1997.

See also  Marjorie Taylor Greene says Putin just wants to be our friend and ally

Draupadi Murmu was a member of BJP’s ST Morcha National Executive from 2013 to 2015 and served as Head of BJP’s Mayurbhanj (West) District in 2010 and 2013. Between 2006 and 2009, she served as Head of BJP’s ST Morcha BJP in Odisha. She was a national executive member of BJP ST Morcha from 2002 to 2009.

Presidential polls

Voting for India’s next president will begin on July 18 while counting will take place on July 21.

See also  Alabama Senate race tests Trump's influence after approval flip-flop

The electoral college for the presidential election comprises 543 Lok Sabha, 233 Rajya Sabha and 4,033 members of the legislative assemblies. The total value of the votes of the parliamentarians is 5,43,200, and that of the members of the assembly 5,43,231, totaling 1086431.

NDA is the largest group of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, but it still needs the support of smaller parties and independents to secure a victory. The BJP is in power in 18 states. He has 5,32,351 votes out of 1086,431.

To subscribe to UKTN Bulletins

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here