7.7 C
Saturday, May 8, 2021

Tamil Nadu 2021 Exit Poll Results: Poll predictions to be released after 7:30 p.m. today-Politics News, UK Time News

Must read

UK Time Newshttps://www.uktimenews.com
UK Time News is your daily dose of Latest News, Entertainment, Music, Fashion, Lifestyle, World, Cricket, Sports, Politics, Tech, Business News Website. We provide you with the Latest Breaking News Straight from the UK & all around the World on different categories.

Single-phase 234-seat assembly elections in the state were held on April 6 and the counting of votes will take place on May 2

Representative image. UKTN

In accordance with the directives of the Election Commission, the results of the exit ballot for the election held on April 6 for the Tamil Nadu Assembly will be published on Thursday after 7:30 p.m., after the ballot for the final phase of the Assembly election. of West Bengal is drawing to a close.

According to the Election Commission, exit polls for West Bengal, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Pondicherry can be released from 7:30 p.m. on April 29 – one hour after the polls close.

READ  Who would have guessed that things would get worse for work after 2019?

The single-phase vote count for the 234-seat Assembly in Tamil Nadu will take place on May 2. A turnout of over 71% was recorded, according to estimated figures on the EC’s voter turnout app.

READ  Harsh Vardhan criticizes Manmohan Singh on his letter to the Prime Minister on the management of Covid

The main competition is between the DMK-Congress alliance and the AIADMK-BJP alliance.

The DMK aims to overthrow the ruling party while the AIADMK is keen to ensure the continuation of “Amma aatchi” (Amma’s reign) for an unprecedented third time. The party led by MK Stalin has been part of the opposition since 2011, when the AIADMK, under Jayalalithaa, stormed the saddle of power and also retained power in the following elections in 2016.

The AIADMK faces a daunting task, however, especially after the rout in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, when the DMK-led alliance won 38 of 39 seats.

AIADMK’s ally, BJP, which had not won a seat in previous assembly elections, contested 20 constituencies. Another AIADMK ally, PMK, contested in 23 constituencies. The Congress, an ally of the DMK, presented candidates in 25 segments of the Assembly. MNM, founded in 2018 and led by actor-politician Kamal Haasan, has tried its luck in the Assembly polls for the first time. TTV Dhinakaran’s AMMK is in alliance with DMDK and other parties.

READ  Pfizer Makes Hundreds of Millions in Profits from Covid Vaccine

No less than 3,998 candidates, including the Chief Minister K Palaniswami, his deputy O Panneerselvam, the chairman of the DMK MK Stalin, the founder of the AMMK TTV Dhinakaran, the actor and founder of Makkal Needhi Maiam Kamal Haasan, the head of state unit Naam Tamizhar Katchi Seeman and BJP state unit head L Murugan contested the election.

READ  “COVID has struck with fury; despite a year of preparation, we were caught off guard '

As the head of the DMK seeks re-election for the third consecutive term of the Kolathur Assembly seat, his son and secretary of the party’s youth wing, Udhayanidhi Stalin, is making his debut in the Chepauk-Triplicance constituency.

READ  TMC calls for Dilip Ghosh campaign to be banned over comments on Cooch Behar violence

Palaniswami contested from AIADMK stronghold Edapaddi, from where he won four times.

According to a report by UK Time News, During the election campaign, the AIADMK-BJP attempted to project the DMK as a threat to public order and women. On the other hand, the DMK and its allies targeted the AIADMK as an extension of the BJP and warned the electorate of the politics of communal division taking root in the state.

Besides the leaders of the state-level groups, national leaders including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, Congress President Rahul Gandhi also campaigned for the respective power and opposition alliances.

On election day, AIADMK and DMK engaged in accusations and counter-charges relating to poll code violations and violence.

With inputs from PTI

More articles


Latest article