The Landry Prize



Voting Landry Award 2022

This year marks the thirteenth time that the Landry Award has been presented to the best high school football player from North Texas! Past accolades have been awarded to North Texas high school football players who have also gone on to become professional football superstars! They include Kyler Murray of the Arizona Cardinals and Myles Garrett of the Cleveland Browns.

What is the Landry Award?

The Landry Award recognizes the best high school football player (any position, any division, any school within the 32-county viewing area) in North Texas who demonstrates positive character and leadership ability. The honoree is chosen by a voting panel of former coaches and players, members of the media and local leaders. Online public votes also count for one vote in the panel ballot. The program was created in 2010 by UKTN 11 and TXA 21 in partnership with the Greater Dallas Fort Worth Fellowship of Christian Athletes.


2021: Josh Hoover, Rockwall-Heath High School

2020: JoJo Earle, Aledo High School

2019: Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Rockwall High School
T.J. McDaniel, Southlake Carroll High School
John Stephen Jones, Highland Park High School
Kennedy Brooks, Mansfield High School
2015: Jett Duffey, Mansfield Lake Ridge High School
2014: Kyler Murray, Allen High School
2013: Myles Garrett, Arlington Martin High School
2012: Jake Oliver, Jesuit
2011: Johnathan Gray, Aledo High School
2010: Johnathan Gray, Aledo High School

The Landry Award was created by UKTN 11 and TXA 21 in conjunction with the Greater Dallas/Fort Worth Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

The Landry Award Coach of the Year

The Landry Award also recognizes a Coach of the Year who exemplifies the Christian values ​​that defined Tom Landry on and off the field. A coach’s job is primarily about teaching life skills and shaping young lives. They shape young people into the leaders of tomorrow. So many coaches in North Texas spend their time being more than just a coach for kids. They are father figures, friends and above all role models. They nurture them with unconditional love and turn them into the kind of adults today’s world needs.

Selected by the Greater Dallas Fort Worth FCA leadership and the Landry Award voting panel, the Landry Award Coach of the Year is one who encourages leadership, selflessness, maturity, respect and kindness.


2021:Kirk Martin, Colleyville Heritage High School

2020: Dave Henigan of Denton Ryan High School
Riley Dodge, Southlake Carroll High School
Jason Tucker, Haltom High School
Mike DeWitt, Coppell High School
Brian Brazil, Hebron High School
2015: Randy JacksonGrapevine High School
2014: Randy Allen, Highland Park High School
2013: Joe McBride, Coppell High School

Tom Landry: 1924-2000

One of the game’s greatest icons began his football legacy in Mission, Texas. At quarterback, Landry led his high school team to a 12-0 season his senior year. After returning as a bomber pilot, he attended the University of Texas. After graduating from Texas, Landry played professionally for the New York Yankees of the All-America Football Conference and later for the New York Giants. He played as a professional for five years.

Landry began coaching as an assistant with the Giants while still playing, and later became a full-time assistant coach with the team. Of course, he is best known as the first head coach of the Dallas Cowboys, a position he held for 29 seasons, including a record 20 consecutive winning seasons. During this time, Landry coached America’s Team to five Super Bowl appearances, winning twice. He won 270 games, the third most in NFL history. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1990.

Outside of the X’s and Os, Landry was known as a man of strong faith. He was an active supporter and chairman of the board of directors of the Greater Dallas Fellowship of Christian Athletes for 30 years, encouraging his players to demonstrate leadership both on and off the field.

The Landry Award: Rules


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here