Zimbabwe names Steve Kirby as bowling coach ahead of T20 World Cup | Cricket News


Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) on Thursday confirmed the appointment of Steve Kirby as the new senior bowling coach in Zimbabwe ahead of the T20 World Cup, which starts on October 16. starts in Australia next month. A former first-class cricketer, Kirby served as bowling coach with Somerset until his last appointment, one of the sides he played for during his long and successful county career in England.

The 44-year-old also worked with current Zimbabwe Head Coach Dave Houghton in Derbyshire.

See also  West Zone Win Duleep Trophy, crush South Zone by 294 runs | Cricket News

Commenting on Kirby’s appointment, ZC Cricket Director Hamilton Masakadza said in an official statement from ZC: “We are delighted to confirm Steve as our Bowling Coach for the senior men’s team.”

“He has done incredibly well as a player and coach in county cricket over the years and as we strive to strengthen all facets of our game and improve our performance at the highest level, we consider ourselves privileged and lucky to have him as part of our technical set-up,” Masakadza added.

See also  Dream goodbye: India whitewashes England in Jhulan Goswami's final waltz | Cricket News

Kirby said when the opportunity to join Zimbabwe presented itself, he felt it was too good to ignore.

“I have aspirations to be the very best coach I can be, and international cricket is something I really want to be involved in,” he said.

“I’ve worked really well with Dave Houghton before when we were at Derbyshire and when this position came along I felt I couldn’t turn it down. The scale of the role is hugely exciting as I will not only be working with the National XI, but I will also be involved in the whole route structure across the country,” he added.

See also  Watch: Emotional Tribute to the Queen for England Vs South Africa Third Test | Cricket News


Zimbabwe Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup: Ervine Craig (Captain), Burl Ryan, Chakabva Regis, Chatara Tendai, Evans Bradley, Jongwe Luke, Madande Clive, Madhevere Wessly, Masakadza Wellington, Munyoga Tony, Muzarabani Blessing, Ngarava Richard, Raza Sikandar , Shumba Milton and Williams Sean.

Reserves: Chivanga Tanaka, Kaia Innocent, Kasuza Kevin, Marumani Tadiwanashe and Nyauchi Victor.

Topics mentioned in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here